When You’re Facing Foreclosure

Budget101 Discussion List Archives General Budget & Finance When You’re Facing Foreclosure

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Liss

Desperate

I need information about foreclosure and bankruptcy. When unemployment drags the family budget down, even extreme thriftiness can’t prevent serious problems. What can a person do to keep their home? And what scams should a person be alert to, when considering professional help to prevent foreclosure?
      Rose B.

Know the Options and Scams

O Boy, do the scammers come out of the woodwork when a notice of foreclosure hits the publications…and I’ve seen most of them!

I am a real estate agent in California and have worked closely with numerous homeowners who, on the brink of the foreclosure sale itself, called me for help in “dumping” their home before a foreclosure marred their credit history.

My #1 question for them was, “Do you want to move, of would you rather keep your home?” Without exception, every homeowner I spoke with wanted to stay in their home but, because of the overwhelming response from other real estate agents, attorneys and other professionals telling them they had to dump their home fast, they didn’t know there was another option.

Loan Modification!

Just as credit card companies will adjust your interest rate and payment if you’ve experienced difficulties, your lender will consider a loan modification. Many people aren’t even aware that this is a possibility. Call your lender and ask for the phone number to the “Loss Mitigation” Department.

This is different from the people in the collection department who have been calling you over and over asking when you’ll make a payment, this department will try their best to help you out of a difficult situation. Lenders do not want your property; an REO property (Real Estate Owned) means a liability to them. Of the numerous loan modifications I have submitted, I have had a 100% success rate!