Thinking of starting childcare at night…..

Budget101 Discussion List Archives Budget101 Discussion List Thinking of starting childcare at night…..

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author

Personally, I refuse to live my life worrying over a potential lawsuit from one of my parents. Judges are very sick of frivolis lawsuits and a lawsuit would only be one against any provider if the provider is negligent. My energies are put into keeping my kids safe. I’ve been doing this for 21 years and never had a serious accident. I’ve only had the minor scrapes and cuts little kids get and not even many of those. If a child fell off the swing and broke their arm, parents can pay for that. It’s not a negligent accident. I know there are parents that would try and sue. But I’d deal with it if it happened.

I’ve had policies for the kids. And there are separate liability policies that are available for daycare. But they are extremely expensive. I’ve always decided not to renew. They will cancel you for a lot of reasons too. They don’t really cover all that people think. They have very limited amounts available for the types of lawsuits that happen most often. Most big suits are accusing a person of something deviant like sexually mollesting the kids. And often the lawsuit is about a dog bite or other similar animal bite. But these daycare insurance policies do not cover dog bites and they have very limited amounts of coverage for being accused of molesting the kids. If it’s proved that molestation does exist the policies will NOT pay out. The coverage is only to defend against such a claim.