Stuff I’d Like to See General Sewing

This topic contains 11 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by JoAnn November 24, 2008 at 10:00 pm.

• Author

Is anyone into sewing?

Yes Margaret K, I am into sewing. I call it therapy some days LOL.

Kim, I have been sewing for many years. I used to sew every day, but in the last 110 years due to health I couldn’t at all. I am slowly getting back into it.

And yes. all sewers will agree it is ‘therapy’. LOL.

I love sewing, I sew by hand, wish I knew how to sew by machine. I have to find someone to teach me and find the time….

Lynn, machine sewing is so easy! Much easier than by hand in my opinion. I don’t have a fancy machine just one that does the basic stitches.

I even have a really old one-my grandmothers first electric sewing machine-still works it was one that I learned on and I prefer to use it over my newer one (1980’s)

Margaret do you make certain things (clothes etc) or do you prefer to just sew whatever? I love making pillows and curtains. If I make clothes I make my own patterns rather than buy the patterns at the store.

Yes, I do sew clothes. I did it originally because I couldn’t find things to fit me & I was very picky. I used to make tailored pant suits (people always asked me where I bought them).

I also made a lot of cocktail dresses. Blouses by the dozen, jackets, etc. At the time I worked full time so it was reeal therapy for me & I loved it.

Vogue patterns & Marlo Thomas (the actress)patterns were my fav’s. No altering on them. I use cheap, iron on to keep my patterns in shape, Cut them out & iron them on & you’ll have for years.

Joann’s & Hancock have patters on sale often & Walmart has cheap patterns.

I sew pillows and hem alot ….. hubby says he is going to get me a machine…..not enough time to do all the things I want…. 🙂