Sizzlin’ Hot Deals Stockpilers-R-Us is there anything you wont or dont stockpile?

Viewing 18 reply threads
  • Author
      Avatar for bethaliz6894bethaliz6894
      Participant

i have been stockpiling for 5 years. i seem to stick to the same things to stockpile but at times it gets boring. besides fresh fruits and vegetables, what don’t you stock pile?

sour cream and cottage cheese —

everything else gets:

frozen, dehydrated or canned.

Participant

i have frozen cream cheese, however, it didn’t thaw to well. I probably wont do that again. 🙂

LOL… I’ve done that too… the other thing I will not freeze is Mayo.

Participant

lol! i have done the mayo too.

dh and i were only together about a year and we were living day to day, hotdogs was a gourmet meal at that point. times were really hard.

i had opened a brand new jar of mayo and the compressor goes out on the fridge. so i froze the mayo thinking it will be ok. when we thawed it out it was so gross, i didn’t eat mayo for a very long time.

interesting about the mayo. When i was stockpiling it was mainly already canned foods. I am interested to hear what everyone posts here.

Avatar for bethaliz6894cjsmith45
      Participant

Can you dehydrate food in the oven, or do you need a special appliance for that?

I learned the hard way – don’t stockpile anything that hasn’t been tried and approved by your family! Just because it was free – didn’t mean a good deal when it came to Velveeta Shells and Cheese. Nobody at my house would eat them.

They were donated to the food pantry.

@cjsmith45 332358 wrote:

Can you dehydrate food in the oven, or do you need a special appliance for that?

It can be done both ways from what I’ve read.
      There’s a recipe that I’m gonna try soon…dehydrated steak jerky that’s done in the oven.
      It uses deer or beef round steak and the seasonings don’t include sugar…so it’s something I’m willing to try with some of the deer in the freezer.

@MrsPaws 333059 wrote: