Budget101 Discussion List Archives Tips-n-Tricks Homemade tooth whitener! Recipe

Viewing 22 reply threads
  • Author
      Avatar for BiggerPiggyBankBiggerPiggyBank
      Participant

In a small container with a lid, mix a little baking soda with
      hydrogen peroxide. Get enough of each so that you make a paste. brush
      for a few minutes, rinse.

you can add a little more peroxide if your
      paste dries out over the days.

I am going to try this, I drink alot of coffee and I see my teeth change colors even though I brush alot. It wont make you sick will it>???

It will not make you sick, just don’t swallow. It not only helps to keep your teeth white it also will help if you have gum disease or cavities. I have been doing this for over 20 years and have not had one cavity since I started.

I had heard that peroxide will remove stains from teeth and have been rinsing with a watered down solution for awhile. Just never thought of putting baking soda with it and brushing. Thanks I’ll try that, sure beats the cost of white strips.

Before toothpaste, people used baking soda to clean thier teeth. It has a slight abrasiveness to it. I was TOLD this, mind you.

I’m not quite old enough to rememder doing it!

Janice you are too funny!!!! I have a problem with the mint in the toothpaste and it was my grandmother who told me to use the baking soda-because it was what she used, she is old enough. LOL

Oh my gosh — I used to use baking soda lolll I’m old enough I guess. But I think my parents were being frugal LOL” . Ladies you are all too funny.

I don’t know about funny but I have been told I’m warped! (whatever that means!)

Everything Kim said is true. We were told to do the same thing by our dentist a few years ago. It works!!

I keep it in a covered container, never dries out. You will get used to the taste.

where to get hydrogen peroxide

Wal Mart has it in the pharmacy area. Usually you can find it by the bandages. Really inexpensive too.