Foodsaver Vacuum Sealer V825- help?

I just got a food sealer vacuum sealer for free. I didn't get any bags or any directions with it. Does anyone have one of these? I have never used a food sealer before. My biggest question is where do you get the bags? Do you have to buy special bags for this or could it be some more generic

advice, bags, buy, don, food, free, generic, greatly, jus, long, money, question, run, save, save money, sealer, special, spend, tons, vacuum, appreciated, supposed, directions, v825-, biggest, foodsaver

Ground Level Lurker
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Foodsaver Vacuum Sealer V825- help?

I just got a food sealer vacuum sealer for free. I didn't get any bags or any directions with it. Does anyone have one of these? I have never used a food sealer before. My biggest question is where do you get the bags? Do you have to buy special bags for this or could it be some more generic bags. I don't want to spend tons, since this is supposed to help me save money in the long run.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Budget101 Guru
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Foodsaver Vacuum Sealer V825- help?

Here is a link to a manual of sorts:
    http://www.buymebuyme.com/retail/manuals/tilia825.pdf

You can buy the bags in most department stores (Wal-Mart, etc.), along with accessories. You have the choice of pint, quart, or gallon individual bags or continuous rolls. Your machine can hold continuous rolls and the above manual has instructions on how to do it.

Your machine has a trough surrounded by a rubber gasket. In front of that is a wire covered by what looks like a fiber tape. That is the sealing element. You place the bag with your food so that the opening is within that trough, close the lid and start the vacuum process. It will automatically stop when all the air is vacuumed out and seal the bag. It may take some practice before you get the routine.