Frugal Living » Leaves of 3, Let it Be . .

Leaves of 3, Let it Be . .

fb iconpinterest iconpinterest iconlinkedin iconbuffer icon

First, let me say that I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on tv. The advice, articles, and recipes that I post on this site are based on my own experiences in life, either my own or directly from close friends and family.

That being said, let me share with you something that brings me great personal Displeasure. I am extremely allergic to the following plants:

Poison Ivy ~ Poison Oak ~ Poison Sumac

leaves-of-3-let-it-be
When I say allergic, I don’t mean, I get a few itchy bumps if I touch the plant.. what I mean specifically is I am so allergic to these that I once got Poison Ivy in the middle of January -while living in MAINE, (with more than 3 feet of Snow on the ground) simply by touching dear husband’s hunting clothing when putting away Christmas decorations!

Let me give you some pointers on dealing with the horrendous effects of the leaves of 3:

• Only 1 nanogram (billionth of a gram) is needed to cause a rash
  • The average is 100 nanograms for most people
  • 1/4 ounce of urushiol is all that is needed to cause a rash in every person on earth (wonder if the terrorists ever thought of that!) *shudder*
  • Urushiol oil stays active on any surface, including dead plants, for up to 5 years.

Contact

If you believe you have come into contact with ANY part of the plant (leaves, stem, roots, Flowers), Immediately Flush your skin with COLD water continually for at least 15 minutes.

When you are first exposed and trying to remove the urushiol oil from the skin, Do Not use Warm water and  do NOT use Hot water! Using warm or hot water simply opens up the pores in your skin and allows the urushiol oils to settle in, guaranteeing you misery within 48 hours.

If the urushiol oils are not completely removed from your skin within the first 15 minutes, they will bind with the proteins in your skin and you WILL get a rash.