Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    What's a Budget?
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Baking questions from a complete beginner *and other cooking questions*

Okay, so after finding this site my time old interest in learning to bake has been rekindled. I was never taught to cook by my mother...except for home made spaghetti and a cheese whiz recipe. Beyond that I've learned on my own. Well, the baking stuff confuses me!

Here are some things I would love to know;

1. What do you grease things with? In a recipe for cake in a jar it says to grease jars...but doesn't say what the grease is.

2. What is folding? Such as folding eggs?

3. How could I bake bread with out a bread pan?

4. If you don't have a rolling pin....what can you use to flatten dough?

5. Are there any substitutions for wax or parchment paper? What if I don't have these?

6. What if I don't have measuring items? There's a debate in my house as to how big my spoons are.

7.If you add a little more than the recipe calls for *by mistake* will it destroy the food?

I apologize for the many questions...cause I will probably think of more as the day goes on.... but when it comes to baked goods... I'm like the fairy in Sleeping Beauty who tries to bake a cake... >.> It doesn't go well at all.

2. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Archenstone For This Useful Post:

Deal GURU
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Baking questions from a complete beginner *and other cooking questions*

Ask away!

You grease your pans with butter, margarine, cooking oil, cooking oil spray or (old time--lard or bacon grease).

To Fold means to combine the ingredients by blending with a spoon, wire whisk, or spatula using a up and over motion--get under the ingredients and gently lift and turn --repeat until mixed.

You can bake bread on a cookie sheet or in any pan (pizza pans work good). Just put the dough in the center and bake.