Budget101 Guru
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default I need your ideas for Americana

I want to turn the main part of my home into an Americana decor theme. I have almost nothing to start with, except for wicker baskets which I have used in kitchen decor for quite some time, which I intend to spray-paint in Americana colors (dusty red, dusty blue, cream/khaki colors) and may lace some with ribbons. I hang these on my walls.

I am also making a denim braided rug that will tie in nicely.

Have other ideas? Cheap crafts I can make myself? Little touches I can look for in the thrift stores? I know what I want, but I am not good at putting it to work for me.
    Michelle

2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to DohDohBird For This Useful Post:

Smart Budgeter
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: I need your ideas for Americana

What about old calenders or something where you can find pictures of americana themed stuff. You can recycle some of your old artwork by putting new pictures in them. Thrift stores or garage sales would be a great place to look too.
    "real generosity is doing something nice for someone who will never find out"

Budget101 Guru
    Downloads
    Uploads

If this is an entry way continue the look outside, hang a flag (properly), include the red white and blue theme into the front yard florals.

If you have pictures of family members in uniform copy them and put into frames.

Consider putting up some quotes on the walls or in picture frames

Check around for a quilt to tie into the colour theme, chances are there are at least a few 'cheater' quilts at local fabric store to choose from.

Do you have a geneology tree? Post it on the wall, add in pics from the first ones to make it to America (if you don't have any - check in web search lots from Ellis Island etc)