Budget101 Guru
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Wanted: Info re: coupon clipping

I have been seeing these ads on the internet about clipping coupons and
    saving money, etc. And I do want to save money and shop a little more
    thrifty, but I don't want to pay for a program (remember save money??)

I am wondering if there are any `pro' coupon clippers that really clip
    and save. I have rarely used coupons and am unaware of doubling them
    and store policies. So if you are a regular clipper I would love to
    hear from you and your strategies for success.

Thanks
    Stephanie
    ~ They Call it DODGE for a Reason! ~

Budget101 Guru
    Downloads
    Uploads

Stephanie

I'm not a pro by any means, but they do save me money on my grocery bill.
    This is what I do to make the most of my coupon savings. I take my grocery
    ads for the week and sit down at my computer. I then search for coupons for
    the things I purchase that are on sale. This makes stuff I use a really
    good buy. For example: this week Krogers had their Pillsbury products on
    sale for $1 - I have coupons for .50 off of 2 (which they'll double to $1).
    They're also giving a $5 coupon off your next order when you purchase 10.
    That ends up being free. Here's how: I purchase 10 for $10 and use coupons
    that are doubled equaling $5 and a $5 coupon for my next shopping trip.
    That is $10-$5-$5 = 0 Most of my coupons are printed off the internet as we
    don't get a Sunday paper.

Hugs!
    Karen

Budget101 Guru
    Downloads
    Uploads

I clip some coupons. I get the Sunday paper specifically for the coupons.

That said, I have found that most coupons are for "convenience foods" and a lot of stuff that we don't eat. Even if the store has it at a great price, if we don't eat it, I don't buy it.

I do try to buy what is on sale and then use a coupon on those purchases. That helps.