Smart Budgeter
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Christmas Cookie Baskets?

This is my first year trying to cook anything as a gift. I wanted to create cookie baskets to give to each family. As usual, I am over-analyzing the whole project and would like some advice from some of you more experienced ladies out there.

Here are my questions:

1. I planned on making different size baskets based on family size, is this a normal type of thing? Basically I was trying to figure out how many cookies each person should receive and the multiply based on family size. (I was also not able to find identical baskets and thought that this would be a good way to cover for that.)

2. How many different types of cookies should I make? I've got a whole day dedicated to making cookies, but I don't want to do too much or too little.

3. How do I store/display said cookies. I have a few holiday treat bags, and I've heard of covering them in foil wrapping paper. Are there any suggestions as to keep them fresh and make them pretty.

4. I have 2 family members who have food allergies. One is allergic to chocolate (I planned on add other types of cookies to their basket, but having some type of chocolate for the other members) and the other is allergic to gluten (I planned on giving her a cookie in a jar type basket, so that there is no cross contamination from the other cooking) Does this sound reasonable?

5. I am including a jar of hot chocolate mix to the basket. Does this sound okay? Is it too much with the cookies? Should I do a hot chocolate and a coffee mix?

6. I also wanted to make some cookies for co-workers, but not do a basket/hot chocolate thing due to cost. How many varieties should I have for them?