Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Budget101 Guru
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question New to Slow Cooking...

Actually, I've never done it before. I don't even have a Slow Cooker (is this the same as a Crock Pot?). Anyone have any helpful tips for getting started? I was thinking of buying a cook book for it, but thought it might be cheaper to ask you all instead. I thought crock pots were just for stews and soups, is this true?

I'm also VERY nervous about leaving any appliances on while I am at work or not at home during the day. How does this work? My boss says she does it all the time, but isn't that unsafe? I wouldn't want anything to happen to my 2 kitties while I am away.

2. The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to starsinnight For This Useful Post:

Smart Budgeter
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads

hi starsinnight -I have been slow cooking for well 20 years or so -as far as a crockpot -yes they are very safe -I have left in the morning and supper is done when I come home -pretty cool. As far as the kitties -you may need to place it in a room where they can not get to it -it will be hot-I'm not sure they can knock it over -if you place far enough back on your cabinet. If still not sure ,cook something easy like a beef or pork roast when your home -then you can find out about the cats. I just place my meat ,an onion cut up and water to fo 1/2 way up the meat -than later I add carrots and potatoes. If I was leaving I would add the carrots in large chunks with the meat and the potatoes whole or I would bake them they tend to get mushy. I would cook this 8-10 hours depending on roast size.Well hope I helped Bobbi-ne

4. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to bcoffey68359 For This Useful Post:

Budget101 Guru
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads