Need Help!!! – Chicken Legs

Budget Menu & Dirt Cheap Recipes General Recipes Need Help!!! – Chicken Legs

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      rtebalt

Hey guys, this is a little silly, but I thought I’d ask anyway. I’m a pretty decent cook. (I love to cook, have tons of cookbooks, watch FoodNetwork all the time, etc.) Hubbie & I love chicken & I have made a million different chicken dishes, but…

I always use chicken breasts (because they’re healthier). Anyway a couple of weeks ago I bought a bunch of chicken legs (because they were on a great deal) and froze them. I want to use them, but I’ve never cooked with chicken legs before.

Yes, I know that’s silly! 🙂 Anyway, they still have the skin on & I want to know if anyone has any recipes that I could use to make them. I want to take the skins off (so they’re healthier) & I would love to find some recipes for baking them (maybe some BBQ baked chicken).

Anyway, if anyone has a recipe or idea, I’d really love it! And be specific about the instructions. Like I said, I’ve never cooked legs before.

Thanks so much guys!

wilbe95

rtebalt, you can use chicken legs in anything that calls for pieces of chicken. Soups, casseroles etc. I like to take the skin off of mine then toss them in a pot to cook-the broth is great to save for later useage.

The meat will just fall off of the legs and you can put in a casserole. One my family likes the best is a cheesy chicken rice bake-I make rice, add hte chicken chunks, put in some kind of a creamed soup and add cheese to flavor. Bake in the oven at 350 for about a half hour.

HTH

jaime

I have a recipe for “Unfried” chicken that may work. Remove skin from all chicken pieces. Place chicken in a resealable bag.

Pour enough reduced fat ranch dressing in bag to coat. Seal and put bag in frig. for 30 minutes to marinate.