Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 31
  1. #1
    mluckduck8@aol.com
    Guest

    Default Need advice Sorry so long hope it makes sense.

    Ok here's the situation. My sons fiance moved to Tennessee from North Carolina about 1 year ago. She never applied for a Tennessee Drivers License. About 2 months ago she lost her license (as in its gone not legally lost). She just found out she is pregnant and she has no insurance she is applying for TennCare (Tennessee's medicaid). She needs a drivers license to get the TennCare. She tries to get a TN license and they wont give her one unless she turns in her NC license which she doesn't have. Today she drove to NC to get a duplicate license and they wouldn't give her one because she got her license before she turned 18 and so they say she will have to take the test again, they will give her a new license and then she can come to TN and turn it in and apply for a TN license. The poor thing is broke. She has no family support and Walmart just let her go when they found out she was pregnant. She has an appt. with DHS on Monday to get TNCare but with out a TN license its probably not going to do her any good. Does anyone know anything she can do to either get a TN license or to get TNCare without a TN License. She has no bills to even show her living address. Right now she lives with me. Any help would be appreciated.

    In Him,

    Mary

  2. #2
    dash
    Guest

    Default Need advice Sorry so long hope it makes sense.

    In our state......she would need a picture ID. You don't need a driver's license to get that. Perhaps the DOT in Tenn will give that to her and the DHS will help her then. I think the kicker is going to be, her not having an address though. I think she will have to use YOUR address, and then if they work like Wisconsin, they will figure YOUR income too, unless you rent her a room or something.... dash

  3. #3
    J Diane Northcutt
    Guest

    Default Need advice Sorry so long hope it makes sense.

    Wow, it sounds like she is reaping what she has sown. If she had changed the licence a year ago when she became a Tenn resident ( as the law requires) , she would not have this problem. If she had dealt with the licence loss when it happened two months ago( also the law) she would not be in such a jam now. If she hadn't gotten pregnant, she wouldn't have lost her job.
    This girl is suffering the consequense of her actions. That is what happens in the real world. When she starts following the rules, things will get better for her. She needs to learn that far more than she needs an immediate bail out. I know it sounds harsh, but she needs to grow up.
    Perhaps the baby's father could give her the money to go to NC and acquire another licence( test and all). Is he employed? If not, that should be the first thing required. He has an obligation here to assist financially.

  4. #4
    Chrissy Grimes
    Guest

    Default Need advice Sorry so long hope it makes sense.

    I had a friend who had a similar situation with the out of state driver's

    license. I think she will have to take the driver's test again to get her

    license, but instead of doing it in Carolina and then transfer it to TN, she

    should just save the additional expense and take the test in TN. It shouldn't

    be that big of a deal to take the test (assuming she's been driving enough for

    experience). She should check with the Tenn DMV to see what would be required.

    She'll need her birth certificiate, but I'm not sure what else. Good Luck!



    Chrissy












  5. #5
    Betty Taylor
    Guest

    Default Need advice Sorry so long hope it makes sense.

    > She needs a drivers license to get the TennCare.

    > She tries to get a TN license and they wont give her one unless

    > she turns in

    > her NC license which she doesn't have.



    Just thinking: Can she get a state ID from TN, instead of a license?

    It won't allow her to drive, but should be valid ID for the state

    insurance. (I think the motor vehicles dep't issues non-driving IDs,

    or at least should be able to tell you where to get one.).










  6. #6
    Lucy Anderson
    Guest

    Default Need advice Sorry so long hope it makes sense.

    Re: Budget101.com : Need advice Sorry so long hope it makes sense.

    So, your son is working? As in "no family support" - I would assume that does not include you and your son (the baby's father?)

    Does she have birth certificates and etc? Can she just start over in Tennessee as a "new driver" - take the test over again and etc? Your son could pay for that? And I don't think welfare will require you to drive, just to have picture ID. That is somewhat cheaper.

    She needs to STOP driving without a license - that will cost her big time. Walmart fired her because she was pregnant? That is an EEOC lawsuit waiting to happen. And she will have to have something at your address to show residency - perhaps her last pay stubs showed your address?

    Time for her to start wising up - don't get pregnant before marriage and adequate financial support, don't drive without a license and keep on top of what needs to be updated / records organization.

  7. #7
    Christine Bergeron
    Guest

    Default Need advice Sorry so long hope it makes sense.

    Re: Budget101.com : Need advice Sorry so long hope it makes sense.

    But in the real world you can't get fired for being pregnant.......In the real world it is against the law to fire due to pregnancy. If that is the real reason she got fired Wal-mart can be sued for it. If companies did that their would be very high numbers of unemployed pregnant ladies. I worked during my pregnancies and for my first I worked more than a double shift closed done the place by myself, went home did some laundry, picked up the house & walked the dogs all while in labor before I chose to go to the hospital.

  8. #8
    lindaforsythe
    Guest

    Default Need advice Sorry so long hope it makes sense.

    Hello!



    I usually just read these posts but I feel I have to respond to this one.



    My name is Linda and I am living in Philadelphia, PA. 40 years old and

    yes, I learned (and still am, darn it) things the hard way.



    I had a nervous breakdown and refinanced the house twice within a

    year, lost my job because the ex-boyfriend who was mentally,

    emotionally, and (finally) physically abused, called the people I

    worked with and started harassing them and telling them lies. Due to

    the bad decisions I made while under that type of influence and losing

    my job for six months, I may lose my home. I bought the house 10 years

    ago and my payment was $320. After all the refinancing over the years

    it is now (are you sitting down?) $1,471. My lawyer believes that

    there were unlawful lending practices involved and that if it was a

    "real" application I would have never been approved. No-document loans

    and the appraisers were in on it (they would NEVER have appraised my

    home at the price it was appraised for except to qualify me for the

    loan).I am also bi-polar which didn't help matters at all. I am hoping

    for a 40 year mortgage at best.



    I read the original post and I have to say that what Walmart did is

    ILLEGAL. They are NOT allowed to release a worker due to pregnancy.

    That is discrimination. If the job that she did was too physical they

    are to find her a comparable job for the time of the pregnancy AND

    hold that job for up to one year under the Family Medical Leave Act

    (FLMA). It shouldn't matter if she was part time or not either. I

    would check into that. FLMA is federal.



    As for the license situation, more and more Americans are having a

    hard time getting licenses. My boyfriend is from Jersey. You have to

    have six points of ID. All he wanted was a duplicate. He had to have

    some form of mail with that address on it. His ex girlfriend isn't

    going to give him his mail, now will she? I thought perhaps he could

    put a hold on the mail and pick it up. All he wanted to do was get his

    license and put it in PA.



    I can't imagine why she would have to take the test over again, that

    doesn't seem fair. I am unfamiliar as to how that works in those

    states. In PA once you take the test that is it. I am sure that if it

    expires you may need to take the test again. I hated taking that test.

    I was a nervous wreck. And I agree with Chrissy, have her take in TN

    to avoid all the hassle.



    I wish her good luck and congrats on the baby!



    Linda



    --- In Budget101_@yahoogroups.com, Chrissy Grimes <cmbgrimes@...> wrote:

    >

    > I had a friend who had a similar situation with the out of state

    driver's license. I think she will have to take the driver's test

    again to get her license, but instead of doing it in Carolina and then

    transfer it to TN, she should just save the additional expense and

    take the test in TN. It shouldn't be that big of a deal to take the

    test (assuming she's been driving enough for experience). She should

    check with the Tenn DMV to see what would be required. She'll need

    her birth certificiate, but I'm not sure what else. Good Luck!

    >

    > Chrissy

    >










 

 
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •