Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    shawnonline

Default Our Kids Financial Future

I was thinking about something that may be helpful to our children's future. I wonder why personal finance and budgetingisn't taught in high school. This would be of great benefit to them and all americans over the long term.

I remember I took an engineering economics class in college. I learned more about savings in that class than anything and it was very veryeye opening to me. I didn't become an engineer (I am a computer programmer), but this was so useful to me.

I think this would help our kids overthe long term. It seems to me that I have learned the most about saving and budgeting from my Grandma's generation (I'm 33 and she is 86). Also my mother teaching me how to balance a checkbook when I was a teen was great. I didn't learn much about saving from my parents since they still struggle with it, but have strong tendency to save.

I think our children in general right now are only learning from my generation of getting everything they want and how to pile up debt. Most teenagers have cell phones and spend all of their money from their part time jobs. In high school I saved up $3000 for college myself and that was from only working summers and a paper routeuntil I was 18.

Thanks,

Shawn

Nancy

If the school doesn't teach this, then the parents should. Actually the parents should teach the kids from an early age.

The public schools can only do so much, especially when you consider that half (or more) of class time is spent just trying to keep order.

Nancy

[quote]
    ----- Original Message -----

I was thinking about something that may be helpful to our children's future. I wonder why personal finance and budgetingisn't taught in high school. This would be of great benefit to them and all americans over the long term.

Shawn