Maria Jewlz

Default Newbie here! Introduction...

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here, and I'm looking forward to learning a lot from everyone. Allow me to introduce myself. I'm 32 years old and my husband is 43. We have two children, a 5 year old and a nearly 20 year old (well, that's my husband'sanyway). My husband and I both work fulltime, and we are very lucky to have my wonderful parents taking care of our daughter after school each day. Getting down to finances, as I'd appreciate any feedback that anyone may have... INCOME/SAVINGS My salary is $56,000 of which I contribute 8% to a 401K. My company matches an additional 3%. My husband earns about $28,000 a year and he contributes a portion of his salary into a 401K as well. We currently have a combined savings of about $60,000 (in savings & CD's) which acts as an
    emergency fund as well as...well, savings! We dip into it every once in a while, but we try to stay clear from using our savings for the day to day. We may plan to do some home renovations soon which may eat up a portionof that savings. We're also going on a vacation soon (first time in about 7 years!) and may use some of the savings for that as well. EXPENSES We recently bought a $310,000house and have about $155,000 left to pay on it. We put all of the equity from the sale of our old house into this new house, plus put an additional $30,000+ down on it to keep the loan cost down. Our monthly mortgage is around $1700 a month, and we contribute an extra $200/month towards the principal to pay our loan off in 15 instead of 20 years. We have 2 car payments, each with about $7,000 left to pay on them. Surely, we could pay off those cars