• Crafts

    Crafts

  • Do it Yourself

    Do it Yourself

  • Gardening and Landscaping

    Gardening

  • Frugal Living Articles

    Frugal Living

  • Gift Ideas

    Gift Ideas

  • Frugal Holidays & Decor

    Holidays

  • Make your own Mixes

    Mixes

  • Money Matters

    Money Matters

  • Recipes

    Recipes

  • Tips and Tricks for Frugal Living

    Tips-n-Tricks

  • Contact Us

    Contact Us

  • + Reply to Thread
    Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Results 1 to 8 of 9
    1. #1
      What's a Budget? Debbie Russell is on a distinguished road Debbie Russell's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Tennessee
      Posts
      12
      Downloads
      0
      Uploads
      0

      Default Any opinions on printers?

      We are in need of a new printer. We've used HP's in the past. They print quality is good, but the ink consumption has gotten worse with each printer, and the refills aren't exactly cheap. So:
      What kind do you use?
      How is the ink usage?
      How is the print quality?


      Thanks!

    2. #2
      Budget101 Guru mcnerd has a reputation beyond repute mcnerd has a reputation beyond repute mcnerd has a reputation beyond repute mcnerd has a reputation beyond repute mcnerd has a reputation beyond repute mcnerd has a reputation beyond repute mcnerd has a reputation beyond repute mcnerd has a reputation beyond repute mcnerd has a reputation beyond repute mcnerd has a reputation beyond repute mcnerd has a reputation beyond repute mcnerd's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Southern California, CA
      Posts
      260
      Downloads
      0
      Uploads
      0

      Default Re: Any opinions on printers?

      Personally, for saving money, I prefer to use a laser printer for general printing needs. There is no way to really 'save' money using an ink jet printer since all the brains and money is contained in the cartridge. I prefer just about any model that has separate ink chambers and even better if it has an extra large black ink cartridge.

    3. #3
      Creator & Designer of Budget101.com Liss has a reputation beyond repute Liss has a reputation beyond repute Liss has a reputation beyond repute Liss has a reputation beyond repute Liss has a reputation beyond repute Liss has a reputation beyond repute Liss has a reputation beyond repute Liss has a reputation beyond repute Liss has a reputation beyond repute Liss has a reputation beyond repute Liss has a reputation beyond repute Liss's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 1995
      Location
      East Coast
      Posts
      3,055
      Blog Entries
      178
      Downloads
      47
      Uploads
      226

      Default Re: Any opinions on printers?

      I don't know what you SHOULD buy, but I know what I WOULDN'T buy... we purchased an Epson CX6000 less than 6 months ago, it's an "All in one" fax, scanner, copier (with top feed), Wireless printer etc- it literally stopped powering on about 4 days ago. For no reason, just decided to die.

      The kicker is, it NEVER printed nicely to begin with. Literally every single time I wanted to print a photo with it I would have to run the alignment First and no matter how much time you spent aligning it or cleaning the printheads, etc, there was ALWAYS ALWAYS lines or blurriness in the finished product.

      It's the WORST printer I've ever owned and we've been through a few over the years. Initially I purchased it so that I would only have to buy the color ink that I actually needed, however, EPSON stopped selling those particular cartridges individually and everytime I wanted to buy ink I was stuck buying the 3 packs again. So now I have 12 yellows, 3 blues and 2 pinks/reds that are completely useless to me. Oy, did I mention I HATE Epson?
      ~Liss~
      Creator & Designer of
      www.Budget101.com
      www.GroceryBudget101.com
      Budget101 Forums
      KitchenMixGifts.Budget101.com

      *Newbies*
      Forum How To Guide

      **The happiest people are not those with the best or the most of everything, The happiest people know how to make the best of everything they have.**

    4. #4
      Budget101 Guru bleedingace is on a distinguished road bleedingace's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Small Town
      Posts
      157
      Blog Entries
      14
      Downloads
      4
      Uploads
      0

      Default Re: Any opinions on printers?

      Do you have to have an inkjet printer to print the coupons or will it work with a laserjet? trying to reduce ink cost.

    5. #5
      Deal Goddess FreebieQueen has a reputation beyond repute FreebieQueen has a reputation beyond repute FreebieQueen has a reputation beyond repute FreebieQueen has a reputation beyond repute FreebieQueen has a reputation beyond repute FreebieQueen has a reputation beyond repute FreebieQueen has a reputation beyond repute FreebieQueen has a reputation beyond repute FreebieQueen has a reputation beyond repute FreebieQueen has a reputation beyond repute FreebieQueen has a reputation beyond repute FreebieQueen's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 1995
      Location
      in front of the puter
      Posts
      71,186
      Blog Entries
      7
      Downloads
      29
      Uploads
      15

      Default Re: Any opinions on printers?

      Quote Originally Posted by bleedingace View Post
      Do you have to have an inkjet printer to print the coupons or will it work with a laserjet? trying to reduce ink cost.
      No you can print coupons with any printer, as long as they don't Smudge. If they don't scan the stores wont accept them.
      ~Enjoy!~

      FreebieQueen

      Like Budget101 on Facebook!
      Join us on Twitter #Budget101



    6. #6
      Ground Level Lurker moorenm will become famous soon enough
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      4
      Downloads
      2
      Uploads
      0

      Default Re: Any opinions on printers?

      Try Product reviews and prices, software downloads, and tech news - CNET and look up online reviews of printers to help you with the purchasing process. Also, consider refilling your inkjet cartridges yourself to save money. I hope this helps!

    7. #7
      Ground Level Lurker wenpeek is an unknown quantity at this point wenpeek's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      Dallas, TX
      Posts
      4
      Downloads
      0
      Uploads
      0

      Default Re: Any opinions on printers?

      I know this is kind of an old thread but I wanted to throw my two cents in. Every printer I have ever owned has been a Lexmark. I've had many different models but my favorite type of printer is the all-in-one. I love being able to make a copy of something if I need it. I scan any important documents before I submit them instead of keeping a "hard copy" and cluttering up my home office "space". I think Lexmark uses a lot less ink than some of the other brands. Even though I have not personally owed an HP printer, my experiences with them at work and with friends makes me never want one. You are buying the name brand only. They use a TON of ink, most won't work unless you have both ink cartridges installed, etc. I hear Cannon is another good brand. I also refill my black ink cartridge (it's super simple to do). I also have my printer settings to where it only prints in black/white and the quick print setting prints a little lighter but is still a good quality. If I need something in color I just change the settings for that particular document manually. Doing both of those things saves me over $100 plus a year.

    8. #8
      Deal GURU MrsPaws is an unknown quantity at this point
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      Alabama
      Posts
      1,587
      Blog Entries
      10
      Downloads
      6
      Uploads
      0

      Default Re: Any opinions on printers?

      I've had both an Epson and Lexmark.
      Hated the Epson, like the Lexmark, but HATE the cost of the ink cartridges.
      Every time I tried to have one filled, it fails.
      When the cartridges are bought brand new, they don't last very long AT ALL.
      Sooo, I'm kinda on the fence. Thinking about a new one, but not sure of what to buy if I do.

    Similar Threads

    1. Up to 45% Off Canon Laser Printers
      By Budget101 in forum Deals-n-Steals
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 12-17-2010, 06:00 AM
    2. Over 50% Off Select HP Printers
      By Budget101 in forum Deals-n-Steals
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 12-12-2010, 06:00 AM
    3. Free $10 Tax Survey from Web Opinions--*Must Qualify*
      By FreebieQueen in forum Freebies
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 10-07-2007, 06:41 AM
    4. need some opinions
      By Marguerite in forum Budget101 Discussion List
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 06-29-2007, 11:29 AM
    5. need some opinions
      By in forum Budget101 Discussion List
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 12-31-1969, 08:00 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts

    (C) Melissa 'Liss' Burnell & Budget101.com 1995-2014
    Material from www.Budget101.com may not be copied or distributed, or republished, uploaded, posted, or transmitted in any way, without the prior written consent of Budget101.com, EXCEPT: you may print recipe pages for your personal, non-commercial home use only, provided you do not delete or change any copyright, trademark, or other proprietary notices. Modification or use of the materials for any other purpose violates Budget101.com's intellectual property rights.
    Site Design is Created from a Modified Style Originally Created by Miner Skinz

    Complete Frugal Living Resource ©